Indian athletes in Summer Olympics

Official site for The Indian Olympic Association (IOA)

1. India first participated at the Olympic Games in 1900, with a lone athlete

    (Norman Pritchard) winning two medals- both silver- in athletics.

2. India first sent a team to the Summer Olympic Games in 1920.

3. From 1928 to 1956, was the golden period for the Indian Hockey team.

    The Indian men’s team remained unbeaten in the Olympics, gaining six

     gold medals in a row.

4. 1952 Olympic atHelsinki: Maharashtra’s Khashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav

     won the bronze medal in the Men’s Freestyle Bantamweight

     (54 kg wrestling) category.

5. 1964 Olympic at Tokyo: Indian field hockey team bagged Gold medal

     defeating Pakistan in the final 1-0.

6. 1968 Olympic at Mexico: Indian hockey team defeated West Germany

     2-1 to win the bronze medal.

7. 1972 Olympic at Munich: Indian hockey team clinched the bronze medal.

8. 1980 Olympic at Moscow: Indian hockey team defeated Spain 4-3 to

     win the gold medal.

9. 1996 Olympic at Atlanta: Leander Paes won a bronze in lawn tennis

     in men’s single event.

10. 2000 Olympic at Sydney: Andhra Pradesh’s Karnam Malleswari

      clinched the bronze medal in the 54 kg category weightlifting.

11. 2004 Olympic at Athens: Rajasthan’s shooter Rajyavardhan Singh

      Rathore who won Silver  medal in the Men’s Double Trap event.

12. 2008 Olympic at Beijing: Vijender Singh became the first Indian

      boxer in history to win an Olympic bronze medal in middleweight


13. 2008 Olympic at Beijing: Abhinav Bindra he won the gold medal

       in Men’s 10m Air Rifle.

14. 2008 Olympic at Beijing: Sushil Kumar (66kg wrestling)

      clinched the bronze medal.

15.  2012 Olympic at London: The Manipur-born boxer  Mary Kom

       won a bronze medal in the Woman’s boxing  51 kg.

16. 2012  Olympic at London:  Sushil Kumar won a silver medal

      in the  wrestling 66kg free style  category. Yogeshwar Dutt

      clinched a bronze medal in wrestling’s freestyle 60 kg category.

17. 2012 Olympic at London: Saina Nehwal became the first

      Indian badminton player to win an Olympic bronze medal in

      Woman’s Single..

18. 2016 Olympic at Rio: PV Sindhu won a Silver medal in the

      badminton Woman’s Single.

19. 2016 Olympic at Rio: Sakshi Malik won a bronze medal in

      the women’s wrestling 58kg category.  She also became

      the first Indian female wrestler ever, to do so.


Leave a Reply